Service Coordination/Homeownership Education/HUD Approved Counseling Services

Service Coordination

Service Coordination is a professional practice in which the Service Coordinator (SC) is

a facilitator, advisor, educator, advocate and community services referral agent for

the Housing Authority of the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma (HACNO). The most fundamental

role of a Service Coordinator is to link individuals to a wide range of community

services that ultimately empower them to live independently and become self-sufficient.

All services are open to the public and free of charge. Please see below for your local SC’s contact information.

 

Education Services

Education Services offered by the HACNO Service Coordination Program include:

  • Pre-purchase Homebuyer Education
  • Post Purchase Homeownership Education

For more information on course dates, locations, online courses, or preregistration, please contact Neile Vance, Education Coordinator.

 

Counseling Services

Counseling services offered by the HACNO Service Coordination Program include:

  • Financial Management/ Budget & Credit Counseling
  • Mortgage Delinquency & Default Resolution Counseling
  • Pre-purchase Counseling for Potential Homeowners
  • Rental Housing Counseling
  • Services for Homeless Counseling

 

A HUD-approved housing counselor is specially trained and certified to help you assess your financial situation, evaluate options if you are having trouble paying your mortgage loan, and evaluate options for rental or homelessness. Housing counselors are well equipped to help you understand and evaluate your options.

What happens when you call a housing counselor?

If you’re calling because you’re having trouble paying your mortgage, the housing counselor will ask you for information about your mortgage loan, such as the amount you owe and the date of your last payment. This information is generally on your last mortgage loan statement. The housing counselor may also ask for information about your pay stubs, tax returns, recent bank statements, and other bills you pay each month, such as car loans and credit cards. The counselor is asking for this information to understand your financial situation and how much you can afford for a monthly mortgage payment.

If you’re having trouble paying your mortgage

A HUD-approved housing counselor cannot promise that you will get to keep your home. They will help you look at your options so you can make a decision that’s right for you.

If you are facing imminent foreclosure or have been served with legal papers, you may also need to consult an attorney. 

For more information or to set up an initial counseling appointment, please contact Amanda Russell or Lakeisha Ware.

 

 

Carrie Blackmon, Director

Phone: 580-317-7303

Email: cblackmon@choctawhousing.com

Shelbie Crow, Assistant Director

Phone: 580-579-4068

Email: scrow@choctawhousing.com

Kim Nabors, SC Districts 1, 2, 7, S1/2 of 3

Phone: 580-372-3738

Email: knabors@choctawhousing.com  

Beckie Johnson, SC Districts 4, 5, N1/2 of 3

Phone: 580-372-4154

Email: bjohnson@choctawhousing.com

Megan Chance, SC Districts 6, 11, 12

Phone: 580-775-8717

Email: mchance@choctawhousing.com

Josette Rosales, SC Districts 8, 9, 10

Phone: 580-740-2609

Email: jrosales@choctawhousing.com

Marissa Phillips, SC Clerk Durant

Phone: 580-326-7521 Ext. 4127

Email: marissap@choctawhousing.com  

Lakeisha Ware, SC Clerk Poteau

Phone: 918-647-3668

Email: lware@choctawnation.com

Amanda Russell,  Education Coordinator

Phone: 580-579-7006

Email: arussell@choctawhousing.com

Lindsey Thomas, Education Coordinator

Phone: 580-579-7319

Email: lthomas@choctawhousing.com