About Choctaw Language

Chahta Anumpa Aiikhvna
School of Choctaw Language
Senior Director, Jim Parrish

     The Chahta Anumpa Aiikhvna, School of Choctaw Language, was established to promote and preserve the language, history and culture of the Choctaw people.   The Language Program has grown from having one class taught at the University of Oklahoma via satellite in 1998, to currently having 31 employees and serving approximately 2,000 people per week through community classes, early childhood classes, public schools, colleges and through the use of the Internet.  There is one goal that the people of the School of Choctaw Language share: teach the Choctaw language to everyone that wants to learn.
     One of the outlets of Choctaw Language Education is a public school.  At this time, there are 41 schools in the 10 ½ counties of the Choctaw Nation that teach the Choctaw language, but the goal of the School of Choctaw Language is to eventually teach in all 85 schools in the 10 ½ counties.  Though at this time they do not have the teaching staff required for this goal, they invite you to let them know if your school is interested in getting a Choctaw Language course.
     The School of Choctaw Language public school teachers are certified by the state of Oklahoma and have their tribal certification from the Choctaw Nation, making them highly qualified.  These Language instructors have developed the Choctaw Language Curriculum 1, 2 & 3.  Using these Curriculum, they instruct up to 730 students on a daily basis during the school term.  The classes are brought to the schools using One-Net communication system, which allows the students to hear the spoken language in daily lessons given by the Choctaw language teachers.  These courses also carry a world language credit to count towards graduation and are accredited by the State Department of Education. 
     Though the teaching staff is limited, it is growing quickly. Today, there are 18 certified teachers.  In 2010, Choctaw Language became the first tribal language to be added to teaching certificates, once reading “Native Language,” now reading “Choctaw.”  The more teachers that become certified in the Choctaw Language, the more Choctaw Language can be taught to people who have the desire to learn.
     Choctaw Language courses are also available in colleges including Southeastern, Eastern and Carl Albert.  The Higher Education Programs for Southeastern located in Idabel and Ardmore provide them as well. 
     The classes provided in these colleges are Choctaw 1- 4.  In addition, Southeastern offers both Intermediate and Advanced Conversational Choctaw.  This gives Southeastern 18 credit hours available in Choctaw Language courses. Southeastern now offers Choctaw Language as a minor.
     There are community classes offered for the Choctaw Language as well.  These classes are free of charge and are available to anyone, not just Choctaws.  There are 30 sites at this time, both located within the Choctaw Nation and outside.  In addition, Choctaw language classes are offered via the internet using the AvaCast system allowing the language instructor and students to interact in real-time.  These classes are offered as a community service and do not carry college credit.
     The School of Choctaw Language also has a website located at www.choctawschool.com for those who want to learn, but can’t be in one of the classes.  The site offers Choctaw language lessons, PDF downloads, MP3 sound clips and video to suit different learning methods.  The website serves as a gateway for locating the community classes and for logging in to the internet language classes.
     The entire concept of the School of Choctaw Language is to inspire people to get involved with the Choctaw language.  The heart of a culture is its language; so if you are a speaker of Choctaw, teach it to the ones close to you and anyone who wants to learn.  If you are interested in getting your child enrolled in a Choctaw Language course, or if you yourself are interested in learning the language, contact the School of Choctaw Language at 1-800-522-6170.

Learn more at http://www.choctawschool.com

Toll Free:    1-800-522-6170  ext. 2179

Direct:        (580) 924-8280  ext. 2179

Jim Parrish, Executive Director . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2250
jparrish@choctawnation.com

Teri Billy, Assistant Director . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2102

tbilly@choctawnation.com

Susan Cockrill, Executive Administrative Assistant . .ext.2340

scockrill@choctawnation.com 

JT Wallace,  Technology Coordinator. . . . . . . . . . . ext. 5163
jtwallace@choctawnation.com

Junior Myers, Technology Assistant . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 4021
wmyers@choctawnation.com

Colina Hickman, Teacher Assistant . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2179

chickman@choctawnation.com

Translation Specialist

Dora Wickson, Translation Specialist . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2180

dwickson@choctawnation.com 

Henry Battiest, Translation Specialist . . . . . . . . . . .  ext. 2936

hbattiest@choctawnation.com

Language Instructors

Curtis Billy,  History & Culture. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .ext. 2103
cbilly@choctawnation.com

Nicole Billy. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .ext. 2717

nbilly@choctawnation.com   

Hannah Bryan . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 5152
hbryan@choctawnation.com

Bernie Davis . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2106
bdavis@choctawnation.com

Mike Davis. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2458
mdavis@choctawnation.com

Lola John . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2104
ljohn@choctawnation.com

Lillie Roberts Internet Classes. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2101
lmroberts@choctawnation.com

Betty Ward. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2270
bward@choctawnation.com

Nicholas Charelston. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2691
ncharleston@choctawnation.com

Virginia Espinoza. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .ext. 2662
vespinoza@choctawnation.com

Kandace Folsom . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2660

kfolsom@choctawnation.com 

Elsie Hicks . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2352

ehicks@choctawnation.com

Caleb Taylor . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2412
ctaylor@choctawnation.com

Angie Williston . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2422
awilliston@choctawnation.com

Lincie Maye . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .ext. 5148

lmaye@choctawnation.com 

Joyce Baker  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  ext. 2616

jebaker@choctawnation.com

Leigh Ward . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2686

leigh.ward@choctawnation.com

Casey Baker . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .ext. 2382 

cdbaker@choctawnation.com

Justin Fite . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Interlocal (580) 931-3881

jfite@choctawnation.com

Scholarship Students

Kris Ward . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2685
kward@choctawnation.com

Hailey Cusher . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ext. 2697

hcusher@choctawnation.com