Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes

Leaders of the Five Tribes passed a resolution of ‘no confidence in Wes Nofire or the position of Native American Liaison’ within Governor Stitt’s Administration

The ITC leaders voted during a special session Thursday

Published September 21, 2023

“Wes Nofire cannot be an effective advocate for tribes in Oklahoma or act as a bridge between the governor and tribes when he clearly echoes the same anti-tribal rhetoric as the governor,” Leaders of the Five Tribes said. “Governor Stitt has proven to be opposed to tribal sovereignty. He has appointed Wes Nofire to simply parrot his views opposing tribes not only as independent sovereigns, but as valued partners in strengthening the state. We can only conclude that Wes Nofire will continue to oppose tribal sovereignty under Governor Stitt’s direction. Therefore, we do not have confidence that he can fulfill the role as Native American Liaison.”

The Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Tribes includes the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee and Seminole Nations and collectively represents more than 815,000 tribal citizens throughout the country.