

## PUBLIC NOTICE - PROSPECTIVE CANDIDATES FILING FOR ELECTIVE OFFICE

To the Tribal Members of The Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: April 19, 2023, at 4:30 p.m.

In accordance with the Chief and Tribal Council Election Ordinance, adopted by CB-124-18, notice is hereby given,

That the candidate filing period for the 2023 Choctaw Nation elections ended today, April 19th. The list of prospective candidates filing for the elective offices of Council Districts 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 11, and Chief are listed below.

Council District I	Council District 2
Thomas R. Williston (incumbent)	Tony Ward (incumbent)
	Brent Minter
Council District 3	Council District 5
Eddie Bohanan (incumbent)	Ronald C. Perry (incumbent)
Kay Haering	
Archie Meashintubby	
Council District 8	Council District 11
Perry Thompson (incumbent)	Robert Karr (incumbent)
Larry Wade	Nellie Meashintubby
Chief	
Gary Batton (incumbent)	

The Contest of Candidacy Period begins at 8:00 a.m. on Thursday, April 20<sup>th</sup> and ends at 4:30 p.m. Friday, April 21<sup>st</sup>. Any contests of candidacy can be made in Membership Conference Room #1251 at the Choctaw Nation Headquarters at 1802 Chukka Hina Durant, OK 74701.

All prospective candidates are pending qualification checks. A list of qualified candidates appearing on the ballot will be released later. Early Voting will be July 7th and the General Election will be July 8th.

For more information about Choctaw Nation elections, visit <a href="https://www.choctawnation.com/elections">https://www.choctawnation.com/elections</a> or contact the Election Board Secretary by email at <a href="mailto:ElectionBoard@choctawnation.com">ElectionBoard@choctawnation.com</a> or by phone at 580-634-0679.