

PUBLIC NOTICE of Qualified Candidates Appearing on the Choctaw Nation General Election Ballot for 2023

To the Tribal Members of The Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: April 26, 2023

In accordance with the Chief and Tribal Council Election Ordinance, adopted by CB-124-18, notice is hereby given,

General elections shall be held for Council District 2, Council District 3, Council District 8, and Council District 11. The list of qualified candidates for elective office shall appear on the ballot as listed below:

Council District 3
Eddie Bohanan (incumbent)
Kay Haering
Council District 11
Robert Karr (incumbent)
Nellie Meashintubby

All candidates for the elective offices of Chief: Gary Batton; Council District I: Thomas R. Williston; and Council District 5: Ronald C. Perry are qualified and uncontested so ballots will not be issued for those elective offices.

All voters affiliated with a Council District having an election will start receiving ballots in the mail beginning the week of June 12th. All ballots completed by voters must be mailed and processed by the United States Post Office in Durant, OK by 4:30pm on July 7th. The Election Board will not accept hand delivered ballots.

To check on the status of your Voter Registration, contact the Voter Registration Department at (580) 642-8600 or by email at VoterRegistration@choctawnation.com.

Early Voting will be July 7th and General Election will be July 8th.

For more information about Choctaw Nation elections, visit https://www.choctawnation.com/elections or contact the Election Board Secretary by email at ElectionBoard@choctawnation.com or by phone at (580) 634-0679.