Independent Elder Housing
Independent Elder Housing is affordable housing available to elders that are able to live independently. The units are designed for one person or one person and their spouse.
Tenant rent in the Independent Elder Program is based on 15% of the gross adjusted income for the household.
Each unit is equipped with energy star appliance:
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Central Heat & Air
  • Washer
  • Dryer
Site Locations Antlers - Broken Bow - Coalgate - Calera - Hartshorne - Hugo
Idabel - Poteau - Stigler - Smithville - Talihina - Wilburton
 
Application Inquiries Trinity Courtwright Ext. 6560 tcourtwright@choctawnation.com
 
Asst. Director Ashlie Miller 580-775-0504 amiller@choctawhousing.com
  Antlers, Atoka, Coalgate, Calera and Hugo
 
Asst. Director Cindy Pickett 580-597-6799 cpickett@choctawhousing.com
  Broken Bow, Idabel, Smithville and Talihina
 
Asst. Director Casey Smith 580-597-9012 csmith@choctawhousing.com
  Hartshorne, Poteau, Stigler and Wilburton
 
Director Shelbie Crow Ext. 6398 scrow@choctawhousing.com
 
Sr. Director April Jefferson Ext. 6363 ajefferson@choctawhousing.com

The Independent Elder Housing Services consists of 139 one bedroom units.

  • These units are designed for a single person or a person and their spouse.
  • Each applicant must be able to live independently.
  • Applicants must be 55 or older.
  • Elder age 62 and older receive preference.
  • Tenant must be able to pay 15% of their gross adjusted income towards rent.

Application

We welcome any calls or visits to our office.

Phone: 800-235-3087 / 580-326-7521

Fax: 580-326-0010