Teen Pregnancy Prevention

Tribal Personal Responsibility Education for Teen Pregnancy Prevention (PREP)

The Choctaw Nation Personal Responsibility Education Program (PREP) for the Prevention of Teen Pregnancy was awarded by the Department of Health and Human Services Division of Adolescent Health, Children and Family Services Bureau in September of 2011.  The PREP program will partner with three schools (Boswell, Soper, and Ft. Towson) as well as Jones Academy to present the Draw the Line/Respect the Line teen pregnancy prevention curriculum.  This curriculum is an abstinence plus program engaging Middle School (6-8th grades) students in active learning styles such as role play and games.  We will also reinforce key adulthood preparation topics such as financial literacy, developing decision making skills, healthy relationships and adolescent development by utilizing an online learning system.  Students will be able to access activities, games, and videos online during library or free time at school.  The overall goal of Choctaw PREP is to provide a holistic range of pregnancy, sexually transmitted infection (STI), and HIV prevention services as well as adulthood preparation services to Native American youth in two high-need counties with strong Native American populations

 

Funding made available through a grant with the Department of Health and Human Services, Administration of Children & Family. 

Hannah Wood- Director

580-326-8304 ext. 6073

hwood@choctawnation.com

 

David Trusty - Educator

580-326-8304 ext. 6072

dtrusty@choctawnation.com

 

Choctaw Nation Teen Pregnancy Prevention Program (TPP)

The Choctaw Nation Better Beginnings Department received a five year Teen Pregnancy Prevention Grant from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Office of Adolescent Health (OAH) in July 2015.  The OAH Teen Pregnancy Prevention Program is a national, evidence-based program that funds diverse organizations that are working to prevent teen pregnancy prevention across the United States.  The Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma is the only tribe in Oklahoma that received this grant.  The Choctaw Nation Teen Pregnancy Prevention Program will be implementing an evidence-based teen pregnancy prevention curriculum in areas with the greatest needs.  The counties of Choctaw, McCurtain, and Pushmataha counties have some of the highest teen pregnancy rates in the state of Oklahoma.  These three counties will be the focus of this grant.  The Choctaw Nation Teen Pregnancy Prevention Program will be educating Middle School, High School, and Alternative Education students that attend schools in these 3 counties by using an age appropriate evidence- based Teen Pregnancy Prevention curriculum.

Christi Hammons, Director                                                

580-326-8304 – 580-317-3180                                       

chammons@choctawnation.com 

                                   

David Lindly, Sr. Educator

580-326-8304 – 580-317-7213

dlindly@choctawnation.com

 

Choctaw County Educators                                       

Andi Finch                                                                           

580-775-7455                                                                     

afinch@choctawnation.com 

 

Matt Gabbart                                                                     

580-775-5147                                                                 

mgabbart@choctawnation.com                                       

 

McCurtain County Educators

Angie Hill

580-7758157

amhill@choctawnation.com

 

Kerry Willis

580-775-5985

kwillis@choctawnation.com

 

Pushmataha County Educators                            

Melissa Hembree                                                                

580-775-8058                                                                      

mhembree@choctawnation.com                                     

 

Michael Melton

580-775-5714

mmelton@choctawnation.com

 

Office Tech

Erin Denton

580-326-8304

edenton@choctawnation.com