Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma

The Great Seal of the Choctaw Nation

Chief Gregory E. Pyle is unopposed in this year’s election, according to Choctaw Nation Election Board officials. This is the third term in a row that Chief Pyle has been the only one to file, something that has never happened in the history of the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma.

Also, unopposed in the 2011 election are Councilman Kenny Bryant, District 3; Councilman Perry Thompson, District 8; and Councilman Thomas Williston, District 1.

Several candidates have filed in District 5, the seat to be filled after the death of Councilperson Charlotte Jackson in January. They are Michael B. Jordan, Leland L. Sockey, Carolyn Thompson Harris, Ronald Perry, Norma Nunn Anderson, and Louisa Terrell Gonzalez.

Five have filed in District 2: Incumbent Mike Amos, Ivan Battiest, Jeffery Jefferson, Tony Messenger, and Austin Battiest.

Incumbent Bob Pate and Daniel E. McFarland have filed for the District 11 seat.

Election day is July 9. Polls will be open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

District 2 voting precincts are the Choctaw Community Center, Stigler; the Kinta Community Center, Kinta; the County Barn, Keota, and the Choctaw Community Center, Spiro.

District 11 voting precincts include the Choctaw Nation Health Center, McAlester; City Hall, Hartshorne, and Kiowa High School, Kiowa.

Runoff elections, if needed, will be July 30.